To buy or rent

To buy or rent

Posted by PDewhurst6 
To buy or rent
July 21, 2009 06:50PM
We have been going to Polychrono for a number of years now, and are thinking of moving out here.
What are the benefits to buying or renting.
My husband is a builder and I am a nurse. We are fed up of England and are ready for a new challenge.
What are the chances of finding work here. We are learning Greek, but find it easier to learn when hands on.
Any feedback would be appreciated. We are both in our 40's with family all grown up, and no mortgage.
petros
Re: To buy or rent
July 21, 2009 07:58PM
i think long-term renting is still quite cheap in the area especially if you don't rent in the tourist hotsposts.

buying will obviously be more expensive but you get the benefit of the long-term increasing property prices.

i think you will probably be able to find a low-paid job in the building industry. for higher-paid job, it depends on the circumstances and what you plan to do with your skills.

but i think the difficult part will be to find work in nursing. you may be forced to commute to thessaloniki or near there since your best chance will be to work in the private sector whether it is a private hospital or caring for an old person, and obviously most (but probably not all) of these opportunities will be around Thessaloniki.

In any case it will be difficult. I wouldn't go straight for byuing. I would take advantage of the low long-term rental prices in places such as kassandreia , kallandra, fokea etc settle down and then take it from there. See first what job opportunities are around and where.